h1

Steampunk Guest Book Pen

August 8, 2010

The EtsySteamTeam is currently putting together a Steampunk Wedding contest, featuring wedding based items and specifically new creations. It took me a while, and some helpful suggestions, to actually come up with something a little different that I liked. And that I really felt was an entirely new sort of project.

Steampunk Pen and Holder

I give you my Steampunk Guest Book Pen. Perhaps not the most exciting name, but I’m big on minimalism and simplicity. Which I think this piece manages. While still being an elegant little item.

I started out with a simple silver metal pen that I found and added on the leather grip.

Just the Pen

I toyed with a few other ideas for decorating the pen more, but in the end went with just the dangling gear off of the connecting chain. I used a similar gear to keep the chain from pulling back through the eyelet in the tip of the pen-holder.

Pen Holder interior

The base is a fun little cog-shaped piece that I have used for a variety of projects. I think they’re normally called junction locks or something of the sort. Though I’ve mostly found them at thrift stores and the like and find they make great framing pieces for larger projects. I filled it with a leather core with a bit of epoxy to keep it solid, which I also added to the base of the cone where it fits into the leather. Keeping it all a solid unit.

Overall, I’m quite pleased with how the piece turned out. It has some extra flavor to it without being a really over-the-top sort of piece. Thanks for looking!

