h1

Blogworld08, Part II

September 20, 2008

I probably should start off with finishing out yesterday.  First off, SO COLD. Spend a little too much time nearly freezing to death, especially durring lunch. I was also sad that lunch was very very established. No real options, but it was reasonably tasty and free, so I really shouldn’t complain that much. The lunchtime discussion, though, was actually fantastic to listen to. I appreciated Guy Kawasaki and Steve Rubel’s talk. Of course, as much as they may both have been interesting to listen to, I have to say Guy rather stole the stage. He has a great personality and is refreshingly straight forward. I loved hearing his perspective on the whole writing about things you may have been given or pitched or what-not. The gist was that of course he wrote about things he would invest in or like, thats what he WANTS to write about. It is a rather solid point on the matter of at what point you consider something to be a paid post.

There was also the very infomertial presentation. I really hate powerpoint, and I hate it more when people add goofyness to it. Bleck.

Actually hiked back to the hotel. It’s just long enough of a walk to kind of suck, but I still walked back this morning. Nothing too exciting over the evening. I seem to have argued the internet into submission. Stupid hotel. Stupid Windows Vista constantly working too har to do things it isn’t any good at doing.

Started out today with the booth crawl of the expo floor. I have to say, the booth crawling is often my favorite part of a convention. I like really getting down and talking with individuals rather then sitting through panels. Panels have some good ideas and all, but they never quite have the same sort of conversation that actually being on the floor has.

I need to interject a section on one of my favorite groups at the convention. The people at Cart-Away Supply win huge points from me today. These guys run a business offering francishe opportunities in concrete, rental and landscape stuff. They hauled a great, brightly painted concrete roller down from Oregan as a sort of PR push. I have to say, if I suddenly wanted to change course and shift into landscaping, I would have to work with these guys. I love the guts they have to show up at a blogging convention to generate buzz about a company that doesn’t have really anything to do with blogging. They’ve started a blog to keep people posted on the results of this little experiment. I recommend checking it out. And hell, if you have a minute, take a second to talk about the guys at Cart-Away. I chatted with them for a bit and they get my vote as good people. If nothing else, I hope they get something out of wandering around in bright green shirts. And you might see a picture of me with there cement mixer if you check out their blog.

I also met some lovely ladies from a mother travel blog. I can’t find the card just now, but I will drop up a link to their site as well once I manage to find it again. Very great people, fun to chat with.

Another fun moment was the people from Zannel who decided they needed to put up a quick video about the goggles that I sell. I probably should have given a shout out to the etsy steamteam, but hey they ARE mentioned in the header on my page. So if people do check out the video, they should get some good words in. :)

Another great bit was stopping for lunch. Not so much the food, the food was sort of meh. Though they at least had the tea I’ve been drinking lately. The really great part was the cranky older marketing professor that sat down at the table. I think the best way to find a good person to talk to at one of these events is to find someone who looks like they’ve been around much longer then anyone else. They always have the best stories and some of the most sharp and accurate perceptions of the things people are talking about.

Ok. Think I’m good for the moment. More to come.

5 comments

  1. Thanks for the post valoel. Hope you had as much fun this year as I did!

    best,
    Rick
    CEO & Co-founder
    BlogWorld & New Media Expo


  2. I mirror my partner Rick’s comments … but I wanted to give you a lead on the lovely ladies from the mom travel blog … I think I chatted with the same ones … and they were lovely! I am talking to them about putting together a travel track in our seminar program next year. Try contacting Shannon Hurst Lane from TravelingMamas.com …


  3. That does in fact sound correct! Thanks for the comments and it was a great conference!


  4. […] Stars and Muses also declared Cart-Away as one of the highlights of their Blog World experience: I need to interject a section on one of my favorite groups at the convention. The people at Cart-Away Supply win huge points from me today…I love the guts they have to show up at a blogging convention to generate buzz about a company that doesn’t have really anything to do with blogging. They’ve started a blog to keep people posted on the results of this little experiment. I recommend checking it out. And hell, if you have a minute, take a second to talk about the guys at Cart-Away. […]


  5. This is awesome! I wish I had the smarts to think about doing the same thing. Checking these guys out now..maybe I can get in touch with them.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

